Pedal Pi sample rate

5 years 7 months ago #1505 by Ham
Pedal Pi sample rate was created by Ham
Hi
I have a PedalMega and am thinking of getting a PedalPi as well. I have read through the posts on how it works and can’t work out the sample rate from the code - can you explain that? There seem to be no clear timing functions.
I presume on the arduinos the sample rate is set as the interrupt frequency but this doesn’t apply to the Pi.
Thanks for any help
Paul

:guitarfende :pedalmxr:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

5 years 7 months ago #1506 by yojimbo
Replied by yojimbo on topic Pedal Pi sample rate
I'm no expert (But I'm willing to play one on the internet :silly: ) so someone correct me where I'm wrong/making things up. I believe this is one of the issues in using a raspberry pi / linux computer for this type of application. On an arduino or similar board, you control the entire execution loop with your program, so can get much more precise timings. There is no OS or other applications competing for compute time/resources. On the Pi, even if you set a interrupt / timer there is no guarantee of precise timing. This is an example of fly swatting with a shotgun, though...the Pi has a tremendously large processor for this application, so unless you are running a bunch of things on your Pi while trying to run the Pedal effects, you won't see any issue, but may notice a bit of noice/jitter from time to time. I do notice that on my pi zero w using wifi I have a bit of issue with some of the effects. I haven't dug in to find out if this is caused by wifi rf noise, or processor timing from handling the wifi stack/data input, but may try in the future.

For the examples given, I believe that the sampling frequency for the pedal_pi is limited by the SPI bus and the voltage input to the ADC. good background reading on the forum at: Link: DSP on Raspberry Pi and Using ADC with rPi