TC1044 theory questions

8 years 1 month ago #446 by RedLlama
First off, Hi, and thank you for making such a cool pedal. I am using this project
as my electronics lab project. Since I have full use of oscilloscopes, function generators, and various testing equipment, i thought it would be fun to poke around at various smaller components of your design and see if there is any room for improvement. As i am brand new to this, i was hoping you could help me out a bit. The first component i built was the power supply. I noticed you decided on the TC1044 chip, which was a very interesting little chip to use.
So looking at this datasheet,
ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/21348a.pdf

I find..
"Theoretical Power Efficiency
Considerations
In theory, a capacitive charge pump can approach
100% efficiency if certain conditions are met:
(1) The drive circuitry consumes minimal power.
(2) The output switches have extremely low ON
resistance and virtually no offset.
(3) The impedances of the pump and reservoir
capacitors are negligible at the pump frequency.
The TC1044S approaches these conditions for negative
voltage multiplication if large values of C1 and C2 are
used. Energy is lost only in the transfer of charge
between capacitors if a change in voltage occurs. "

Basically, it says if you use 100uF caps, you can obtain 100% efficiency. So my question is, would using 100uF caps in this design have any negative effect on the pedal?

Further on down the page, i also came across this section,

"Paralleling Devices
Any number of TC1044S voltage converters may be
paralleled to reduce output resistance (Figure 4). The reservoir
capacitor, C2, serves all devices, while each device
requires its own pump capacitor, C1. The resultant output
resistance would be approximately:
R out= R out(of TC1044s)/n(number of devices)"